Review of Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon

Linux Mint 16 has been released and I thought I would review the same way I had with Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander and have the same five simple or not so simple tasks to complete.

1. Configure the software sources and update.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:15:04
This was an easy task in the software sources manager found at Menu -> Administration -> Software Sources.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:16:12
Upon clicking the appropriate sources either for the linuxmint repository or for the ubuntu repositories the manager would select the best mirror for my location for both. So it was good not to have to guess at which server was best for my location.
Once I had done that all that was needed was to ‘Apply’ and click ‘Update the Cache’.
Update Manager.
The update manager is a useful tool to see if there are updates available. It is in Menu -> Administration -> Update Manager.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:21:23
With linuxmint and updating the update manager provides certain levels to the updates levels 1-5 , some have said this brings a security concern as the linux kernel and other package updates that are meant to improve security are disabled by default. Whilst that is true it is done to increase stability and it is easy to change in the update manager as seen below.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:21:44
Edit -> Preferences
2. Install third party Nvidia Drivers
Linux Mint has a nice gui tool where you can select from a list of drivers available. It is found in Menu -> Administration -> Driver Manager.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:22:37
Since the trouble I had with ubuntu not writing a much needed /etc/X11/xorg.conf file for me I decided it would be best to check to make sure that one existed. One was not created for me so I had to run sudo nvidia-xconfig before rebooting as without it I would have booted to a black screen with a blinking cursor.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:26:11
3. Automount the partition using the fstab file
This process was the same as in Ubuntu , however gksu was installed by default so I didn’t have to install anything. As with Ubuntu press alt + f2 , gksudo gedit /etc/fstab and in terminal sudo blkid and sudo mkdir the the directories. And of course sudo mount -a after I had saved the fstab file
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:29:02
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:32:54
4. Configure the Login Screen
This was an easy enough process to work out there is a gui editor for the login manager Menu -> Preferences -> Login Window.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:37:09
Here I change the theme and type of login to use either html .
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:38:36
gdm
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:38:41
or gtk
5.Add a new user
There is a gui Users and Groups editor in Menu -> Administration -> Users and Groups
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:39:47
To add new click on ‘Add’
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:39:47
This is where you can enter the name of the user and the account type.
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:40:46
Click to add a password
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:41:10
Click Groups to add the user groups
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:41:21
Then click the approprate check box
Conclusion
Linux Mint has easy to use gui utilites to do all the tasks I had set out to test , this made setting up and configuring it easy. However there were a few bugs I had experienced. As with ubuntu I had graphics glitches when using the nouveau driver , this made me think there is a problem with nouveau or at least upstream in Ubuntu causing this, I am willing to be wrong on this so if anyone else has the same issue or knows exactly what the problem is please let me know so I can put the correct information here. I also had the software sources bug , here is a picture of what I mean
Screenshot from 2013-12-02 11:13:25
It was easy fixed it step 1 of this review , but is annoying to say the least especially since it has been in a few linux mint versions. Another bug which I did not have with 16 (but did with 15) but others have is instead of using the Intel , nouveau or opensource radeon (others aswell vboxvideo and via) it uses llvmpipe which uses the cpu for renderering otherwise known as software renderering , which is extremely annoying on the live media as it slows everything down to a halt , unless of course you have plenty of cpu. There were a few minor graphics glitches probably due to the lack of resources. All in all Linux Mint 16 is a good system for all users of linux, new or experienced. To run smoothly I would recommend 1 Gb ram minimum and a decent graphics card.

Posted in 01Ben, Authors, Ideas, ideas and opinions, Linux Mint, Linux Operating System Reviews, Uncategorized
3 comments on “Review of Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon
  1. Hi there to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web
    site, and your views are nice in support of new people.

  2. I always spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s content daily along with a mug of coffee.

  3. mickeyj4j says:

    you have not provided a link back to your website. if you send me the link i will review the site. if it is as you say is should be no problem.

Please feel free to leave a reply.

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

