Review of Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

I decided after posting a guide on installing Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy in Vbox , that since I couldn’t give enough resources to Ubuntu as a vbox guest os, to install it on a partition and give it a proper trial. I am not going to talk about the install process as it was the same as what I discussed in the previous guide. After the install I gave myself 5 simple tasks to see how easy or difficuilt they would be, they are as follows

1. Configure Sources and Update
I chose this one first as installing from live media sometimes copies default settings or in some cases copies it incorrectly, so I want to make sure that if there are any updates I could download them from the quickest server. The process was enough to complete as shown below
pic1
That’s in System Settings –> Software and Updates
However I could not see where to actually start the update process only how to configure them automatically.
1a
In the end I just ran sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade in terminal. At this time there were no updates that needed to install , so perhaps there is a prompt when there are updates available , but it would be nice to at least know one way or another.

2. Install Third Party Nvidia Drivers
One of the issues I was having with both the live media and the install, was that with nouveau I would get ‘lock ups’ where the desktop would freeze or problems with the desktop not starting. I had to turn the computer off using the power button not sure if it was just me. This task is easy to perform as in the same software and update manager , there is an additional drivers tab.
pic2

3. Automount Partitions Using The Fstab File
As you can see in the previous pictures I have a lot of partitions and looks untidy on the dash or even in the file manager.
pic3a
Alt + F2 , gksudo gedit /etc/fstab , but as it turns out gksu is not installed by default which for a distro that defaults to sudo instead of using a root user I thought this was odd. It is installed easily enough in Ubuntu Software Center.
pic5
After that I could then do Alt + F2 , gksudo gedit /etc/fstab
pic6

4. Configure The Login Background
I thought this would be an easy enough task, after about 20 minutes of searching through config files and google searches I came across http://askubuntu.com/questions/64001/how-do-i-change-the-wallpaper-in-lightdm

Not so easy for those new to linux. I would have thought a simple gui for the login background. What annoys me even more is that not everyone wants to share there desktop background with other users. It should be something you opt in for not have to opt out of.

5. Set Up A New User
To add a new user is simple it’s in Settings –> User Accounts , Just have to remember to click the padlock icon in the top right
7

8

Conclusion

It looks and feels like something I would rather install a touchscreen , tablet or mobile device. It is harder for someone like me who is used to a menu and panel then it needs to be. Another thing that annoyed me was when searching applications, all of the installed applications dont show it is filtered , but even worse than that is the fact it searches the internet, again it should be something you opt into instead of having to opt out of. This too makes it more suited to tablets/mobile devices and not desktops in my opinion.

Posted in 01Ben, Authors, Computers, General, General Technology, ideas and opinions, Interesting, Linux, Other, Ubuntu
2 comments on “Review of Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander
  1. […] we all know Linux Mint 16 has been released and I thought I would review the same way I had with Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander and have the same five simple or not so simple tasks to […]

  2. Abhinav says:

    some time before i was windows user but now i am using ubuntu 13.10
    its a good operating system but its not for new users.adobe reader pdf is not in ubuntu download center and skype calling with video confrensing is not available in ubuntu.but ubuntu is virus free its very good.I am indian user and the performance of ubuntu is very good
    so ubuntu can improve regularly(check the libra office and check ms office 2013 print preview option and page setting.you will improve your libra office
    Thanks
    Abhinav

Please feel free to leave a reply.

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

