A review of Linux Mint Debian Edition

With the latest update pack to reach users of lmde. I was curious to see what it would be like to install and update lmde so I downloaded the latest ‘mate’ iso. The install went well , I had no errors whilst installing , I did however wish the installer provided more support of lvm’s and disk encryption not so much for myself but I know there are people who prefer using these.

After the install I booted into the desktop which looks like
mate
Please note this image came from the release blog , not my install.

My next step was to upgrade to the latest update pack , as I usually prefer to upgrade using apt-get as opposed to the update manager. So I made sure that the package lists were up to date so I did a sudo apt-get update. Since I knew there was going to be a large number of files to download I wanted to make sure I was using the best mirror so I did sudo apt-get install mint-debian-mirrors . Then I updated with sudo apt-get dist-upgrade. There has been alot of discussion over in upgrade and dist-upgrade in mint I personally prefer dist-upgrade especially with lmde as there is usually new dependencies that need to be installed, but with that said can also remove files if there is a conflict.

The only thing I had to watch for , was during this process I was asked to update /etc/issue, /etc/issue.net and /etc/os-release. Since I had seen this before in Ubuntu based mint I knew I had to keep the current, but I of course checked the difference in the files first. There quite a few people (mainly using cinnamon) who are having problems with the update packs, mostly centered around dependency problems and conflicts between cinnamon and gnome-shell.

[EDIT]
Even if you update /etc/issue , /etc/issue.net and /etc/os-release they are changed back to lmde configuration later on in the update process. At the time I wrote this I was airing on the side of caution and had not updated those files.

Posted in 01Ben, Authors, Linux, Linux Mint Debian Edition (LMDE)
2 comments on “A review of Linux Mint Debian Edition
  1. […] my tutorial Linux Mint Debian Edition for more […]

  2. […] when trying to recover or fix a broken linux install. In the example I will be using Lmde which I reviewed the update process to update pack 7. I will be ‘chrooting’ into Debian linux. I have mounted the Debian partition to […]

Please feel free to leave a reply.

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

